## UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Farm Service Agency Texas State FSA Office 2405 Texas Avenue South College Station, TX 77840 **TX NOTICE FLP-1385** 

3-FLP (Rev. 2)

**FOR: County Offices** 

# **Secretarial Disaster Declaration S5381**

Approved by: State Executive Director

#### 1 Overview

## A Background

On March 17, 2023, the Secretary of Agriculture designated 139 Texas Counties as primary natural disaster areas. This action is based on damages and losses caused by Drought (Fast Track) occurring November 1, 2022 and continuing. The primary counties are:

Andrews	Atascosa	Austin	Bailey	Bandera	Bell	Bexar
Blanco	Borden	Bosque	Briscoe	Brooks	Brown	Burnet
Caldwell	Callahan	Carson	Castro	Childress	Clay	Cochran
Coke	Coleman	Collingsworth Colorado		Comal	Comanche	Concho
Cooke	Coryell	Cottle	Crosby	Dallam	<b>Dawson</b>	<b>Deaf Smith</b>
Dickens	Dimmit	Duval	<b>Eastland</b>	Edwards	Erath	Falls
Fayette	Fisher	Floyd	Foard	Frio	Gaines	Garza
Gillespie	Glasscock	Gonzales	Gray	Grayson	Guadalupe	Hale
Hall	Hamilton	Hansford	Hardeman	Hartley	Haskell	Hays
Hemphill	Hidalgo	Hill	Howard	Hutchinson	Jim Hogg	Jim Wells
Jones	Kendall	Kenedy	Kent	Kerr	Kimble	King
Kinney	Kleberg	Knox	Lamb	Lampasas	Lavaca	Limestone
Lipscomb	Llano	Lubbock	Lynn	<b>McCulloch</b>	McLennan	Martin
Mason	Maverick	Medina	Menard	Midland	Milam	Mills
Mitchell	Montague	Moore	Motley	Nolan	<b>Ochiltree</b>	Oldham
<b>Palo Pinto</b>	Parker	Parmer	Potter	Randall	Real	Roberts
Robertson	Runnels	San Saba	Scurry	Shackelford	Sherman	Starr
Stephens	Sterling	Stonewall	Swisher	Taylor	Terry	Tom Green
Travis	Uvalde	Val Verde	Washington	Webb	Wheeler	Wichita
Wilbarger	Williamson	Wilson	Yoakum	Zapata	Zavala	

Disposal Date

March 31, 2024

County Offices

#### **TX Notice FLP-1385**

In addition to the above **counties**, **49 other Texas counties** are named as **contiguous** where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, pursuant to section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are:

Archer	Armstrong	Bastrop	Baylor	Brazos	Burleson	Cameron
Collin	Crockett	Denton	<b>DeWitt</b>	<b>Donley</b>	Ector	Ellis
Fannin	<b>Fort Bend</b>	Freestone	Grimes	Hockley	Hood	Irion
Jack	Jackson	Johnson	Karnes	La Salle	Lee	Leon
Live Oak	McMullen	Madison	Navarro	Nueces	Reagan	San Patricio
Schleicher	Somervell	Sutton	Tarrant	Terrell	Throckmon	rton Upton
Victoria	Waller	Wharton	Willacy	Winkler	Wise	Young

Also, in accordance with section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in an adjacent State that are contiguous to one or more of the designated **Texas counties**, are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance. For this designation, the affected States and counties are:

New Mexico (5)	Curry	Lea	Quay	Roosevelt	Union
Oklahoma (14)	Beaver	Beckham	Bryan	Cimarron	Cotton
	Ellis	Harmon	Jackson	Jefferson	Love
	Marshall	Roger Mills	Texas	Tillman	

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

## **B** Application Deadline

EM Loan applications will be received through **November 17, 2023** for **production and physical losses.** 

#### 2 Action

## **A Exceptions for Application Deadlines**

County Offices shall thoroughly review Exhibit 1.

#### **B** Determining Security Values

For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **November 1, 2022.** 

#### C District Director's and Farm Loan Manager's Responsibilities

District Directors and Farm Loan Managers shall follow instructions according to 3-FLP (Rev. 2), and FmHA Instruction 1945-A for emergency loan applicability.

## **TX Notice FLP-1385**

The Farm Loan Manager shall notify borrowers of Disaster Set-Aside (DSA) availability in accordance with handbook 5-FLP paragraph 42.

## **D** Public Announcements

Special emphasis will be placed on informing the farm community through public announcements and arranging and conducting meetings with local Agricultural lenders and leaders.

## 3 Contact Point

## **A** Inquires

If there are questions concerning this notice, contact the Conservation or Farm Loan Program Division.

# Subject: Secretarial Disaster Declaration S5381

Please carefully review the notice listing the primary and contiguous counties determined eligible by the Secretary and the Emergency Preparedness and Programs Branch for emergency (EM) loans effective March 17, 2023.

This declaration is coded **S5381**, and EM loan applications will be received through **November 17**, **2023.** For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **November 1**, **2022**.

Please proceed to take the appropriate notification and coordination actions required by Handbook 1-DIS and 7CFR part 759.