City of McAllen News

Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr. is Border Texan of the Year: Years of service and continued advocacy for the entire Rio Grande Valley cited as reasons for selection

by Office of Communications | Jan 20, 2017


McAllen, TX
 - The Border Texan of the Year Committee announced their selection for the 2017 Border Texan of the Year:  long-time Rio Grande Valley legislator Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. of Brownsville.  Citing his tireless advocacy for healthcare for children with disabilities, equity in public schools and veterans issues, Committee members stressed the various pieces of legislation that Lucio, Jr. authored or secured funding for to bring about significant change that impacted the business and educational landscape of the region. 

(See attached biography for more information.)


“Sen. Lucio has done an awfully good job representing the Rio Grande Valley for the past 40 years,” said Glen E. Roney, chairman of the Border Texan of the Year Committee.  “This is especially evident in his work with both sides of the aisle and in particular, the issues that he has chosen to support, and not support, that positively impact not only the entire Rio Grande Valley, but also, the entire State of Texas.  Sen. Lucio is well deserving of this honor.”


Lucio will be honored at the Border Texan of the Year Dinner on Friday, March 24, 2017 at the McAllen Convention Center.  Table sponsorships are available.  Please contact Susan Dietz at 661-5457 for more information.  Funds raised at the annual banquet will then be distributed to non-profit and educational institutions throughout the Rio Grande Valley, selected by Lucio later in the year.  Previous recipients have included Boys & Girls Club of McAllen, Comfort House, South Texas College and the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.


“Sen. Lucio’s selection as this year’s Border Texan of the Year is inspired because although he is from Brownsville, he truly has worked to improve the entire Rio Grande Valley,” said City of McAllen Mayor Jim Darling.  “He understands that when we help one of us, we help all of us.  I am especially proud of his efforts to improve the higher educational opportunities for the children of the Valley.”


Previous honorees include:  Bob and Janet Vacker, President George W. Bush, Federal Judge Ricardo Hinojosa, U.S. Congressman Kika De La Garza, Senator John Cornyn, Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, Charles Butt and Glen E. Roney.  The Border Texan of the Year has been honoring individuals for their contributions, support and advocacy for the betterment of the people of the Rio Grande Valley and Deep South Texas since 1989.

# # #


© City of McAllen. All rights reserved.