MCALLEN.NET | EXPLOREMCALLEN.COM | CONVENTION CENTER | AIRPORT | QUINTA MAZATLAN | LIBRARY | METRO | BUILDMCALLEN.COM

Site Map

GMA puts Firefighters in National spotlight; McAllen’s Firefighters finalist for music video contest; need help!

by Public Information Office | Jul 07, 2014

The McAllen Fire Department’s video submission for ABC’s Good Morning America’s 5-Alarm Firefighter Challenge has been selected as one of only six semifinalists nationwide. The courageous firefighters lip synched to “Safe and Sound” by Capital Cities in their very own music video. The deadline was tight. The video was shot and edited within a 48-hour window and just hours later GMA producers reached out to McAllen Fire Chief Rafael Balderas to notify him that McAllen’s entry was hand-picked to compete for the $10,000 prize. The six videos will air July 9-11 on GMA which airs on weekdays 7-9 a.m. Viewers will vote and select the three finalists to go to New York next week and compete live for the grand prize.


The McAllen Fire Department has selected the Texas Line of Duty Death (LODD) Task Force to receive the winnings if they take the grand prize.  McAllen Firefighters are also currently helping them raise funds for the McAllen Stair Climb ’14 in September.

 

Link for video: http://youtu.be/UG0n1XUTip8

 
Here is voting info for 5-Alarm challenge: For three days, from July 9–July 11, 2014, at least two of the Semi-Finalists videos will be broadcast each day on “Good Morning America”. Viewers will be asked to vote at goodmorningamerica.com that day for their favorite video among the Semi-Finalists’ videos broadcast that morning. Voting shall begin at 8:00 A.M. ET (7A.M. Central)each of those three (3) days and will remain open until 3:00 P.M. ET (2P.M. Central) each day

© City of McAllen. All rights reserved.