McAllen Police Department

Alarm Permits

According to City of McAllen Ordinance Sec.42-41, a person commits an offense if a person/business operates or causes to be operated an alarm system without a valid permit. A separate permit is required for each site.

All permits are renewed January 1st and expire December 31st. Only pro-rated fees will be charged to permit holders whose operational date is confirmed with the alarm company as being effective after June 1st.

Alarm Registration

Alarm Permits are issued by the Crime Records Unit.

  • Registration by Mail: Download the Alarm Application Form and complete. Mail completed form with a check or money order payable to the "City of McAllen - Alarms Unit". Fees must be included with the application form.  Please mail your request to:

    Att: Crime Records Unit (Alarms)
    McAllen Police Department
    P.O. Box 220
    McAllen, Texas 78505-0220

  • In Person: Registrations, Cancellations and Updates for an alarm permit, can be done in person by visiting the Alarms Unit located at 1601 N Bicentennial Blvd, McAllen, Texas, from the hours of 8:00am – 6:00pm (Monday – Friday).

Alarm Cancellations and/or Updates

Any alarm cancellations and/or updates to a current permit must be made in writing to the Crime Records Unit of the McAllen Police Department to effectively cancel or update the information on your permit. Failing to cancel an alarm permit may result in the accumulation of alarm fees/penalties. Permits cannot be transferred to another permit holder. Download the Alarm Application Form, complete the updated information and submit to the Crime Records Unit (Alarms).

False Alarms

The City of McAllen implemented an Alarm Ordinance in 1992. Of all alarm calls received by the McAllen Police Department, a yearly average of 12,500 constitutes false alarms. In an effort to decrease the number of false alarms, the McAllen Police Department makes great effort to encourage and educate citizens on how to properly maintain the operation of their alarm systems in order to minimize the occurrences of false alarms. False alarm response in effect consumes valuable resources. Our false alarm program is geared toward redirecting public safety resources to more effectively serve the community.

In accordance with City Ordinance Sec. 42-50, the permit holder will be fined a fee of $50.00 per false alarm for either residential or business alarm sites after the 5th false alarm per calendar year. No service fee will apply for the first 60 days of a new permit holder.

Alarm Fees

Alarm fees may be paid by cash/check/money order in person and only by check through the mail. Make check/money order payable to the City of McAllen. Do not send cash.

Alarm Permits Fee Schedule
Permit Type Description Fee
A Monitored by Alarm Company $25.00
B Not Monitored by Alarm Company (audible) $50.00
Renewal Annual Permit Renewal $25.00 / calendar year
Pro-rate Operational date after July of calendar year $12.50
False Alarms exceeding 5 false alarms per calendar year $50.00 each false alarm

If you have any questions regarding Alarm permits, contact the Alarms Unit at (956) 681-2093.

« Back to Records Office Home