McAllen Police Department

Case Reports

Texas Government Code 552, also known as the Public Information Act, gives the public right of access to government information. However, exceptions and fees may apply to some requests. Fees are promulgated by the sections 552.261 through 552.275 of the Texas Government Code. This does not include requests for Texas traffic accident reports. For traffic accident reports, refer to the traffic accident reports tab.

To Obtain Case Reports

  • Request by Mail: Download the Public Information Request Form (PDF). Please submit completed Public Information Request Form with a self-addressed stamped envelope and a check or money order payable to "City of McAllen". Please mail your request to:

    Att: Crime Records Unit
    McAllen Police Department
    P.O. Box 220
    McAllen, Texas 78505-0220

  • Request by Fax: Download the Public Information Request Form (PDF). Fax the form to the Crime Records Unit at (956) 681-2081.
  • Request in Person: The Crime Records Unit is located at 1601 N Bicentennial Blvd, McAllen, Texas, from the hours of 8:00am – 6:00pm (Monday – Friday).
  • Request Online: File an online request via the city’s Public Information site. Click on the link to file an online Public Information request. McAllen PIR

Requests will be answered in writing, along with an invoice indicating any charges/fees incurred. NO reports will be faxed. The McAllen Police Department must, within ten (10) days of receiving request, notify requestor whether an exception applies and submit a ruling to the Office of the Attorney General. If you have any questions regarding the Public Information Act, visit the Texas Attorney General’s Office website @ .


Services may be paid by cash/check/money order in person and only by check through the mail. Make check/money order payable to the City of McAllen. Do not send cash.

Reports Fee Schedule
Report Type Fee
Offense / Incident / Arrest $0.10 per page (other charges apply if more than 50 pages)
Photographs $0.75 per photograph, no enlargement service available
Certified Case Reports $2.00 per certification plus cost of pages
Diskette (CD) $1.00 each
Diskette (DVD) $2.00 each

« Return to Records Bureau Home